Eastbury is a very pretty and peaceful village withe river Lambourn running through it.
Lying in the Lambourn Valley in an Area of Outstanding Beauty and surrounded by rolling farmland with an excellent network of footpaths and bridleways, with plenty of opportunity for walks.
It is an easy commute to London Paddington from Hungerford, which is 15 mins away by car.
London can be reached by car in approx 1 hr 30 mins via the M4.
There are several noted independent schools in the area including Thorngrove, Horris Hill, St. Gabriel’s, Downe House, Cheam, and Marlston House, and Marlborough College.
AMENITIES & FACILITIES
Eastbury is a small village in West Berkshire.
There is a traditional, village hall in the centre of Eastbury village.
It is a registered charity that manages the village hall for the benefit of the Eastbury Residents- providing a focus for events throughout the year. Pilates, Billiards, table tennis, judo and a Snooker club are all run from the village hall.
FOOD & DRINK
The Plough is a the hidden gem that is Eastbury, in an area of ‘Outstanding Natural Beauty’.
A small village in West Berkshire just a mile from the famous horse racing yards of Lambourn and amazing walks and views over the breathtaking downs, overlooking the beautiful valley.
The local surgery is the Lambourn Surgery.
There is a bus and Lambourn Valley Volunteers.
Lambourn Parish Council covers Eastbury
EASTBURY | WEST BERKSHIRE VILLAGERS: HISTORY
Most of the Roman activity from Lambourn parish appears to have been in the Eastbury area.
A highly interesting find is a bronze sceptre head in the form of a male bust.
It may have been associated with a Roman temple whose whereabouts is, as yet, unknown.
Perhaps it was the building on Stancombe Down, revealed by its roof tiles and floor tesserae; pottery, mortars and coins.
Although this is usually interpreted as a villa.
The graves of ten 4th century residents have also been found there.
Eastbury must be one of the prettiest villages in Berkshire.
It has many old and interesting buildings which catch the eye as you pass along the Newbury to Lambourn road.
There are huge medieval thatched barns, little cottages and Jacobean farmhouses.
Pigeon House Farm is named after its well-preserved flint and brick dovecote with room for 999 pigeons! Both buildings are dated 1620.
The red-brick manor is also 17th century and features internal panelling and a fine chimneypiece flanked by caryatids.
As his name suggests, the family of the great Lambourn benefactor, John Estbury, who built the village almshouses, came from Eastbury Manor.
His ancestor and namesake acquired it through a number of land transactions in the 1360s, during the lunacy of the rightful owner, Joan de Wanting!
The little church of St. James only dates from 1851, but the village has a medieval preaching cross.
In the 16th century, it was stated that “on Wednesday in the procession week the procession of Esbery goes to Gombelton Cross and meets Lamborne procession and then both come to Esbery chapel. . . .
Then Esbery goes with them in to the Wodlond on Holy Thursday and the processionof Esbery goes to Wodebery Crosse and there tarries for Lamborne’s procession.”