Amenities & Facilities
Eastbury has a traditional, village hall in the centre of the village. It is a registered charity that manages the village hall for the benefit of the Eastbury Residents- providing a focus for events throughout the year. Pilates, Billiards, table tennis, judo and a Snooker club are all run from the village hall
Food & Drink
The Plough is a the hidden gem that is Eastbury, in an area of ‘Outstanding Natural Beauty’. Just a mile from the famous horseracing yards of Lambourn and amazing walks and views over the breathtaking downs, overlooking our beautiful valley. They work with local farmers to bring the most amazing beef, pork and lamb, Their fish is delivered fresh at 4am every morning, its then filleted and prepped ready for lunch, you can still smell the sea in the boxes. They have sourced over 40 Gins from around the Isles and beyond, matching each individual flavour with fruits and spices to capture the amazing thing that is ‘GIN’. And Obviously a full stock of Fever Tree Tonics to take the journey onwards…
Chosen as top of the 5 best country pubs in Berkshire
There is a local website.
St James the Greater Church, Eastbury is in the centre of the village and is part of the Lambourn Valley Benefice.
The local surgery is the Lambourn Surgery.
There is a bus and Lambourn Valley Volunteers.
Eastbury comes under Lambourn Parish Council.
There are two stables in Eastbury, Ali Stronge and the second one is B Garry Brennan. at Eastbury Cottage Stables.
Most of the Roman activity from Lambourn parish appears to have been in the Eastbury area. A highly interesting find is a bronze sceptre head in the form of a male bust. It may have been associated with a Roman temple whose whereabouts is, as yet, unknown. Perhaps it was the building on Stancombe Down, revealed by its roof tiles and floor tesserae; pottery, mortars and coins. Although this is usually interpreted as a villa. The graves of ten 4th century residents have also been found there. Eastbury must be one of the prettiest villages in Berkshire. It has many old and interesting buildings which catch the eye as you pass along the Newbury to Lambourn road. There are huge medieval thatched barns, little cottages and Jacobean farmhouses. Pigeon House Farm is named after its well preserved flint and brick dovecote with room for 999 pigeons! Both buildings are dated 1620. The red-brick manor is also 17th century and features internal panelling and a fine chimneypiece flanked by caryatids.
As his name suggests, the family of the great Lambourn benefactor, John Estbury, who built the village almshouses, came from Eastbury Manor. His ancestor and namesake acquired it through a number of land transactions in the 1360s, during the lunacy of the rightful owner, Joan de Wanting!
The little church of St. James only dates from 1851, but the village has a medieval preaching cross. In the 16th century, it was stated that “on Wednesday in the procession week the procession of Esbery goes to Gombelton Cross and meets Lamborne procession and then both come to Esbery chapel. . . . Then Esbery goes with them in to the Wodlond on Holy Thursday and the procession of Esbery goes to Wodebery Crosse and there tarries for Lamborne’s procession.”